O Taste and See that… um, something…

I apologize for the brief lapse in posting, but I have two words that will explain the whole thing: term paper. And now that the beast has been tamed and surrendered to the professor, I will resume my normal posting habits.

But speaking of beasts, here come the holidays. That dreaded time when every responsible adult plays with the question, “To eat, or not to eat?” Eating is one of those rare delights that each person experiences differently. I remember someone preaching a sermon several years ago about the verse, “O taste and see that the Lord is good.” (Psalm 34:8) The preacher said that tasting is a personal experience; what tastes good to one person does not necessarily taste good to everyone else.

I had more to say on the subject, but I lost my train of thought when my sister walked in. I would make a terrible writer and mother. I think I could do one or the other, but never both at the same time. My writing would probably suffer more, since I don’t think I could lock my children in a closet until my writer’s block gave way. That would be a nightmare. And for the kids, too.

I’m just so spacey sometimes. You know, like when you get up and walk across the room… then promptly forget why you did. And you stand there for a good 20-30 seconds, trying as hard as you can to remember why you came over here. Then you see something else you need to do, so you do that, then go back and sit down for another 2-3 minutes before you realize that you need to get up again because you didn’t finish what you had gotten up to do in the first place. It makes it very difficult to have a productive day. Now what was I talking about anyway? Oh yeah. Food and holidays.

Well, since I can’t really remember why I was talking about it in the first place, and I can’t think of any great pearls of wisdom to give you for the Christmas season, I should probably quit wasting everyone’s time and send you all off with Christmas wishes for a safe and happy holiday season. And don’t eat too much. Wait a minute, that’s it! That was what I was going to say! I was planning on saying it a little more poetically, but as long as the message gets across, I guess it really doesn’t matter.

So there you have it. Merry Christmas, and don’t eat too much.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “O Taste and See that… um, something…

  1. That “don’t remember why I got up” feeling? That was me all weekend. :)

Leave a Reply

